We made it to Slovakia!

Lenka and I have finally made it back to Slovakia!  It is hard to believe after several years of dreaming about this.  God has been such a rock for us during this process, and we would never be here without Him in our lives.  We are very excited to see where He will lead us over the next two years.

We had a good flight over here, even though I was not able to sleep at all.  I think that I was just too excited!  When we arrived in Hungary it had been snowing.  It was such an amazing sight when we flew into the airport and everything was covered in snow.  Since I come from North Carolina I do not have much experience driving in snow, but Lenka’s dad got us home safely.

Lenka and I have not had much time to rest.  The next morning after we arrived we had to start paperwork here in Slovakia.  Lenka has to update her papers with her new name, and I am applying for permanent residence.  Please pray that everything will go well with my permanent residence here in Slovakia, they are very strict, and everything has to be perfect.

While we were waiting in one office for Lenka to get some paperwork done, it began to snow.  I just felt a peace come over me, and remembered the Bible verse, “Come now, let us reason together,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.”  God has amazing ways of showing His love, even in simple things like snow.

Tonight we were able to be with Lenka’s youth group.  We watched “Courageous”, which someone in the church had translated.  Lenka and I had seen the movie before in the States, but it was good to see it again.  It is a very powerful and challenging movie, and if you have not seen it yet I recommend it!

I have been trying to speak more and more Slovak everyday.  Sometimes it has been difficult and frustrating, but I can already feel myself beginning to think in Slovak, and try to piece together sentences.  It is such a beautiful language, and I am excited about learning it!

Please continue to pray for us that God will prepare us to serve in Slovakia, that I will be able to learn Slovak and be willing to make mistakes, and that all of our paperwork will go through without a lot of difficulty.

We hope that everyone is doing well at home!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We made it to Slovakia!

  1. Michal says:

    Thanks for update, Milka and I, we were thinking on your coming and transforming now on all Slovak staff 🙂 Welcome again and feel well (among much of snow) 😀

  2. Kathy Wright says:

    I am so thankful you arrived safely. I know God is going to do great things! Love and miss you both!

  3. Darko says:

    Pozdravujem vás a vítam na Slovensku. Môžem sa na vás nakontaktovať e-mailom??? Aby sme mohli komunikovať o nejakých veciach… Darko

Leave a Reply

